651-494-8555 [email protected]

In Georgia, child car seats must meet certain laws. These laws protect children, who aren’t yet able to wear seatbelts, in the event of an accident. Children must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat, which is regulated by the Georgia Governor’s Office of High Safety (GGOHS).

Violation of these laws can result in a fine of $50, or worse, a suspended license. Repeat offenders can face a double fine. There is also a point on their record, which stays on their record for two years. In addition to fines, the drivers can be suspended for six months.

Whether your child is eight or twelve months old, Georgia car seat laws are designed to protect their safety. Children under eight years of age should be seated in the back seat, as this position provides the most protection for them. All children must wear seat belts, and Georgia has a number of strict penalties for violating these laws. You could be fined $50 for violating the law, and you could lose one point on your license if you are caught again in the future.

If your child is younger than eight years old, you may be able to use a lap belt instead of a booster seat. However, lap belts are only permitted in vehicles that have no shoulder or backseat, and in the front seat with a car seat. Violations of the law can result in a $50 fine on the first offense, and a $100 fine on a subsequent conviction. If you choose to violate the law, make sure you follow it or risk facing a fine.

A police officer can pull you over for violating Georgia Car Seat Laws if they notice your child in the backseat. Even if the officer sees that you are not wearing a seat belt, there is a chance he will suspect you of another crime, such as DUI. If the officer smells alcohol, you could be charged with a DUI. A DUI charge can lead to a jail sentence, even if you were merely driving while impaired.

While car seat laws vary from state to state, there are some universal guidelines for safe car seat use. As a general rule, car seats are safer for children 40 pounds and older if they are secured in a seat. Also, a seat should be properly fitted for the child’s weight and height. A seat should also meet the specifications of the vehicle in which you are traveling. There are three types of car seats: five point harness, three point harness, and booster.